Clapton Pond-life

November 25, 2008

Did you know that Eric Clapton is a raging xenophobic, racist, Enoch Powell-supporting Little Englander? He should form a supergroup with Morrissey. Oh, and Bowie.

Believe it or not kids, Slowhand himself said this in front of an audience in 1976:

“Surely got to be said, yeah this is what all the fucking foreigners and wogs over here are like, just disgusting, that’s just the truth, yeah. So where are you? Well wherever you all are, I think you should all just leave. Not just leave the hall, leave our country….I don’t want you here, in the room or in my country. Listen to me, man! I think we should vote for Enoch Powell. Enoch’s our man. I think Enoch’s right, I think we should send them all back. Stop Britain from becoming a black colony. Get the foreigners out. Get the wogs out. Get the coons out. Keep Britain white. I used to be into dope, now I’m into racism. It’s much heavier, man. Fucking wogs, man.”

And I never knew that Clapton’s comments, along with those made by David Bowie which praised Hitler, were the stimulus for Rock Against Racism. Well, now I do, and so do you.

Leave a Reply

