Binyam’s back

February 23, 2009

Binyam Mohammed has arrived home.

Mr Mohamed said the worst moment in the last seven years had come “when I realised in Morocco that the people who were torturing me were receiving questions and materials from British intelligence.”

He added: “I have been through an experience that I never thought to encounter in my darkest nightmares…It is still difficult for me to believe that I was abducted, hauled from one country to the next, and tortured in medieval ways, all orchestrated by the United States government.”

…The US government was criticised by judges in the High Court for blocking the release of documents relating to Mr Mohamed’s treatment in detention and he is expected to continue to fight for their publication, saying: “I am not asking for vengeance, only that the truth should be made known, so that nobody in the future should have to endure what I have endured.”

On his arrival Mr Mohamed was detained under the Terrorism Act as part of on-going investigations into his case and was released soon afterwards and driven to a meeting with his family.

His sister, Zuhra, a US citizen who had flown to Britain for her brother’s release, said: “I am so glad and so happy, more than words can express. I am so thankful for everything that was done for Binyam to make this day come true.”

Binyam Mohammed is, it should be mentioned, an alumnus of Bagram airbase, soon to be expanded.

The BBC reports that Mohammed was not simply “detained” under the Terrorism Act, rather “he was questioned for nearly five hours, before being driven off to an unknown destination.”

His full statement can be found here.

Here’s a part not quoted by the Telegraph or BBC:

I had met with British intelligence in Pakistan. I had been open with them. Yet the very people who I had hoped would come to my rescue, I later realized, had allied themselves with my abusers.

2 Responses to “Binyam’s back”

  1. Steve Says:

    We need a public inquiry to find out what really happened to Binyam Mohammed – and who knew what in the UK government. Amnesty’s blogged about it today at: http://blogs.amnesty.org.uk/blogs_entry.asp?eid=2678

  2. Sam Says:

    From the Amnesty Blog:

    “The fact that David Miliband’s “we can’t let the public know because it might compromise intelligence-sharing” didn’t fool my – rather naïve – pet goldfish just adds insult to injury. No politician is going to say: “well, we’re just going to have to cover this one up everybody”. A public inquiry into who knew what, when, and who in this country – if anyone – connived in international torture is the absolute minimum we need.”

    Abso-bloody-lutely. I hope that Amnesty UK will be leading a campaign to secure such an enquiry ASAP.


Leave a Reply

